All you need to know about Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga yoga, also termed as eight-limbed yoga is a practice that harmonizes breath and movement to produce internal heat to purify the body. It is great for building and toning the body and is practiced by many fitness lovers, it was found by K. Pattabhi Jois and T. Krishnamacharya in the 20th century.
Purpose of ashthang yoga:
The ultimate purpose of the Ashtanga Yoga is the purification of the body and mind. By moving so quickly and powerfully, you will get a lot of tapas and everything extra, physical and mental, will have to get out the way. This practice has a strong sense of purpose and you are forced to focus and grow.
Benefits of ashthang yoga:
Ashtanga comes with all the benefits of a regular yoga practice strength, flexibility, stress management, and inner peace. Because the series is so demanding you will get really strong really fast. There is no part of the body that doesn’t work hard in this practice.
To-Do list for beginners-
  1.  Expect failure in the beginning
  2.  Start small and build-up immediately
  3.  Focus on the breath, not the pose
  4.  Watch tutorials
  5.  Feel your body
  6.  Don’t play the comparison game
  7.  Surrender to the process
  8.  Don’t push or pose
The Eight Limbs of Ashthang yoga:
  1.  Yama  (moral codes) –  It deals with one’s ethical standards and sense of integrity, focusing on our behavior and how we conduct ourselves in life.
  2.  Niyama ( self-purification and study)–  It has to do with self-discipline and spiritual observances. Regularly attending temple or church services, saying grace before meals, developing your own personal meditation practices.
  3.  Asana ( posture)–  The postures practiced in yoga, comprise the third limb. In the yogic view, the body is a temple of spirit, the care of which is an important stage of our spiritual growth.
  4.  Pranayama ( breath control)- To gain mastery over the respiratory process while recognizing the connection between the breath, the mind, and the emotions.
  5.  Pratyhara ( Sense control)-  It is during this stage that we make the conscious effort to draw our awareness away from the external world and outside stimuli.
  6.  Dharana (concentration) –  Our focus constantly shifts as we fine-tune the many nuances of any particular posture or breathing technique. Dharana brings our focus and conscious back to self.
  7.  Dhyana ( meditation)-   At this stage, the mind has been quieted, and in the stillness, it produces few or no thoughts at all.
  8.  Samadhi (absorption into the universe)-  With this realization comes to the “peace that passeth all understanding”; the experience of bliss and being at one with the Universe.
3 Most Important Benefits of Ashthang Yoga:
  1. Takes your “me time” to another level – Our lives are filled with work, family pressure, selfish needs, this practice gives you a chance to steal some time for yourself and find peace within.
  2. Increases your years of life – The practice increases a person’s metabolism, cures major diseases and gifts a person with a healthy lifestyle.
  3. More effective stress releasing– This releases stress at a more effective and efficient way and makes life much easier.
0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes

You might also like More from author